Police To Hold Use-Of-Force Seminar March 22
January 26, 2012
To help the public better understand police use of force, the Golden Valley Police Department will hold a class in March to clarify state law and explain and demonstrate how officers are trained. “Why Do Cops Have To Use Force” will be held March 22 from 6-9 pm at the Golden Valley Public Safety building, 7800 Golden Valley Rd.
The class will cover use-of-force training methods and policies, including the Minnesota state statute on deadly force, taser use, firearm training, soft-hand compliance techniques, impact weapons, and much more. The class will include verbal explanations, demonstrations, and discussion. Tuition is free, but space is limited to 20 participants. Download a registration form here or pick one up at the Public Safety building.
In 2011, the number of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty in the United States rose for the second consecutive year, with 177 fatalities, reports the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund. This is 16 percent higher than 2010 and 42 percent higher than 2009.
In Minnesota, all licensed police officers are required to complete a minimum of 48 hours of continuing education credits every three years, according to standards set by the Police Officers Standards and Training Board. One of several mandated topic areas is use of force by officers. The Golden Valley Police Department most recently completed this training and met the requirements in Nov 2011.
For more information, call the Golden Valley Police Department at 763-593-8079.
This entry posted in | Police Department