Eleven File For Three City Council Seats

Eleven Golden Valley residents have filed to run for three Golden Valley City Council seats for the Nov 5 election. Nine are running for two four-year seats and two are running in a special election to fill the remaining two years in a third four-year seat.

The four-year terms of Council members Paula Pentel and DeDe Scanlon are up Dec 31, 2013. Neither are running for re-election.

The term of Council member Steven Schmidgall is up in early November, 2013. Schmidgall was appointed to the City Council in January 2013 to fill the vacancy left by Council Member Mike Freiberg’s Nov 6, 2012 election as State Representative for District 45B. Although the remainder of this City Council term expires Dec 31, 2015, Minn. Stat. 412.02 required the City Council to appoint a replacement for Freiberg until an election is held, at which time a special election must be held to replace or affirm the appointed person if more than two years remain in the unexpired term. That special election can be held at the same time as the City’s next regular election, and the person elected at that time would serve a two-year term until the City’s next election in 2015.

Larry Fonnest, Simon Gottlieb, Bob Hernz, Greg Keivit, Chris Miller, Gillian Uecker Rosenquist, Paul David Schofield, Jacquelyn Smith, and Andy Snope are candidates for the two four-year Council seats.

John Giese and Steven Schmidgall are candidates for the special election to fill the two-year seat.

More information about the candidates is available on the Minnesota Secretary of State website. Check here for voting information.

Questions? Contact Sue Virnig, Finance Director/City Clerk, 763-593-8010.

This entry posted in | Administrative Services | Voting and Elections