Kimberly Sanberg And Maurice Harris Elected To City Council; Shep Harris Re-Elected As Mayor

The Golden Valley City Council will have two new members, Kimberly Sanberg and Maurice Harris, and a returning incumbent mayor, Shep Harris, when it reconvenes in the new year.

In the Nov 5 City election, Sanberg and Maurice Harris defeated Andy Johnson and incumbent Joanie Clausen for two four-year Council seats; incumbent Shep Harris defeated Steve Schmidgall to fill the four-year Mayor seat.

Sanberg has been a Golden Valley resident since 2013 and is the owner and marketing consultant at Cairn Strategies. She has served on Golden Valley’s Open Space and Recreation Commission since 2016 and was a founding organizer of the Golden Valley Pride Festival. She also was a key advocate for Brookview’s indoor children’s play area, The Backyard. Sanberg has a bachelor’s degree from Austin College.

Maurice Harris moved to Golden Valley in 2012. He is employed as a Research Manager for Minneapolis Saint Paul Regional Economic Development Partnership. Harris has served on the City’s Human Rights Commission since 2017 and recently completed his tenure as its chair from 2018 to 2019. He is a committee member of City of Golden Valley’s Rising TIDES Task Force and serves on the board of Minnesota CASA and Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) Minnesota. Harris has a bachelor’s degree from Knox University and a master’s degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Shep Harris has lived in Golden Valley since 2004 and works in government relations for Fredrikson & Bryon. He has served on the Golden Valley Human Services Commission, the Robbinsdale Schools Legislative Action Coalition Steering Committee, the Sabes Jewish Community Center Board, the Minnesota Citizen Stream Monitoring Program, and as Golden Valley Mayor since 2012. He is also a co-founder of the Bassett Creek Neighborhood Group, the Golden Valley Business Council, and Beyond the Yellow Ribbon Quad-Communities. Harris has a bachelor’s degree from American University.

The newly elected Council members will be sworn into office Jan 7, 2020.

This entry posted in | Community | Voting and Elections